Tag Archives: KING

I have probably talked about this album enough already to show how excited I am for this release. Robert Glasper Experiment releases their first full length album that cannot be described as any one genre. The album draws from jazz, hip hop, R&B and rock (they cover smells like teen spirit by Nirvana). Lets first talk about the amazing lineup of special guests, including Erykah Badu, Bilal, Lupe Fiasco, Lalah Hathaway, Shafiq Husayn, KING, Ledisi, Chrisette Michele, Yasiin Bey (Mos Def), Musiq Soulchild, Meshell Ndegeocello and Stokley Williams. This lineup in itself should get you very stoked to check out the album. These featured artists paired with pianist Robert Glasper, saxist Casey Benjamin, bassist Derrick Hodge, and my personal favorite, drummer Chris Dave is jaw dropping. I can say that Chris Dave is one of the most talented drummers I have heard in a long time. Here’s a taste of Chris Dave.

For the people who see the names Lupe and Mos Def, their features will not disappoint. To be honest, I think Lupe hasnt really put out any noteworthy material since food and liquor. Look at his attempt to rap over lights by bassnectar or M83’s Midnight City. I dont know what he was thinking, but his track Always shine is respectable. Mos Def does what Mos does and absolutely killed it on the track, Black Radio, found below.

The great thing about this album is how accessible it is to all types of listeners. For the devoted jazz fans you will find the find the bands combination of different styles enthralling, for hip-hop heads you get to experience a new side of Lupe and Mos that you may not be used too, the quiet jazz rendition of Nirvana’s Smells Like teen Spirit showcases the bands talent to defy genre boundaries and create an album that every listener will enjoy. To check out some more tracks from the album, click hereAll in all, I can already say that this is going to be one of my favorites of 2012. Whats more, if you buy the album on Itunes you get a bonus track covering the A Love Supreme by John Coltrane. The bonus track can be streamed below.