Thom Yorke’s Atoms For Peace Release New Single

Back in July, Atoms For Peace, the supergroup made up of Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich and Flea, released a two song EP on Modeselektor’s 50Weapons imprint. It seemed like a weird label choice considering that virtually any label with any business would jump at the opportunity to release a Thom Yorke project. Think about TKOL RMX 1234567, the two disc The King Of Limbs remix album though. Four Tet, Blawan, Jacques Greene, Pearson Sound, and most importantly, Modeselektor (just to name a few) contributed to the project, highlighting Yorke and Godrich’s interest in and knowledge of contemporary bass music. In that sense, 50Weapons was the perfect home for the debut Atoms For Peace release.

“Default” is the latest Atoms For Peace offering and represents another step into the electronic abyss for Yorke. Check out clips from Yorke’s recent DJ set (he also lent his vocals to a new track) here, here and here. Stream “Default” below and catch it on XL Recordings tomorrow (Sept 10).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: