Tag Archives: Boeboe

Since the inception of this blog, our foremost goal has been to display the music we love (and hope you love) in a tasteful, uninhibited fashion. To that point, I believe we’ve been fairly successful. Our secondary goal has been to bring you original content in the form of interviews, album reviews and most recently, our Mixes From The Astral Plane series. Today, we bring you a new form of original content: Guest Mixes. Whereas Mixes From The Astral Plane is meant to be a sort of overview of what we’re loving on at the moment, Guest Mixes will highlight the work of our favorite artists, one at a time.

For our first ever Guest Mix, we’ve enlisted the man we called the “Dutch trap luminary” last month, Boeboe. As the wheat separates from the chaff in the trap game, Boeboe has emerged with an impressive grasp of hip hop, as well as the strand of bass heavy British house music championed by the likes of Julio Bashmore, XXXY and Eats Everything. Last month’s Act Stupid EP on Sabacan Records exhibited Boeboe’s mastery of the low end and it doesn’t look like he’ll stop anytime soon. Without further ado, we present to you Boeboe’s Guest Mix.


1. Subp Yao – Law of The Jungle
2. A Chal – Paid in Full
3. Boeboe – Breakdown
4. SirOJ – Untitled (Exclusive) (forthcoming on 22Tracks)
5. LOL Boys – Flaunt It (Remix)
6. LZRKMMNDR – Big Ass Titties (Subp Yao Remix)
7. UZ x CRNKN – Booty 2 The Ground
8. Boeboe – Low Key
9. Boeboe – Green Component
10. +Verb – RTS
11. Boeboe – King (WIP)
12. Myrryrs – Fantom Doze
13. Baauer – My Nose

Yesterday, we introduced y’all to “Dutch trap luminary” and Amsterdam resident Boeboe. What we neglected to tell you though was that Boeboe just released a new EP on Japanese label Sabacan. “Act Stupid/Drop” represents everything we love about trap. “Act Stupid” is a rollicking ride through heavy percussion and a grimy bassline. The refrain “you can act stupid if you wanna” goads the listener into discarding any pretensions, allowing full immersion into this complex, yet ignorant banger. Them EDM kids have something called complextro. We got this. “Drop” is more straightforward. Machinegun synths along the lines of Baauer’s “Harlem Shake” or Flosstradamus’s “Lana’s Theme” make this a massive tune. “Drop” is faster than the aforementioned tracks though, taking it slightly out of the trap realm and into something entirely different that I can’t quite place. I get some moombahton vibes, but that’s not really it. Anyways, pump this shit like they do in the future. “Act Stupid/Drop” is available as a free download via Boeboe’s Bandcamp. Stream and download below.